Skip to main content

Check It Out: Information on Borrowing

Whether you've just arrived at STLCOP or are new to using the Library, this guide covers all the basics. Learn about your library account, borrowing information, fines & fees, the STLCOP collection, and how you can suggest items for purchase.

Check Out Policies

  • Please bring materials to the Service Desk along with your college ID.
  • All materials should be returned to the Service Desk during normal service hours.
  • Materials left unattended at the Service Desk are the responsibility of the patron.

Books

Within the Library, our collections include...

General Collection:

Our largest collection of books, the majority of these books can be checked out by our users and requested by outside users through MOBIUS.

  • Checkout length: 4 weeks
  • Late fee: 50¢ per day
Leisure Reading:

Includes current bestsellers, popular fiction and non-fiction, mysteries, science fiction and fantasy, self-help books, and more. This collection is restricted to STLCOP users only--none of the books can be requested through MOBIUS by outside users.  

  • Checkout length: 4 weeks
  • Late fee: 50¢ per day
Reference:

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and current standard texts that can quickly answer questions. 

  • Checkout length: Library Use Only*
    • *Faculty & Staff may check out items for short loans with approval from library staff
Oversized Books

Books too large to be shelved with the rest of the collection.

  • Checkout length: 4 weeks
  • Late fee: 50¢ per day
Yearbooks

Copies of the STLCOP yearbook, Prescripto, from 1930 to 2017.

  • Checkout length: Library Use Only

Course Reserves

Items on Reserve include:
  • materials instructors have placed on reserve for the semester
  • ONE copy of most required textbooks
  • models
  • select materials
Checkout Information
  • Checkout length: Varies, typically 2 hours.
    • Must be returned to the Service Desk before closing. 
  • Checkout limit: 
    • Anatomy models--only 1 body part may be checked out at a time
  • Late fee: 50¢ per hour 

For more information, visit our Course Textbooks & Reserves guide. 

DVDs

DVDs & Blu-ray

A large collection of movies, TV shows, and documentaries on DVD and Blu-ray. Movies are shelved by genre, then by call number/title. 

To see new DVDs or browse all DVDs, see our Featured Lists in the library catalog. 

  • Check out length: 1 week
  • Late fee: 50¢ per day 
Audio Books

A small collection of books on CD

  • Check out length: 1 week
  • Late fee: 50¢ per day 

Library Use Only

Certain collections in the Library are designated Library Use Only and may not be checked out. These items include:

  • Archives materials (including books, journals, pamphlets, etc. )
  • Books with the location 'STLCOP Noncirculating" or the status 'Lib Use Only'*
  • Microfilm & Microfiche
  • Newspapers & magazines
  • Print and bound journals
  • Reference books*

Please feel free to use these items in the library or copy articles/selected pages as needed. 


Faculty & Staff may check out Reference or Library Use Only materials with the approval of Library Staff.