Skip to main content

Database Tutorials

Get help using library databases!

PubMed

PubMed Update

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) officially launched a redesigned PubMed in May 2020.

The new PubMed features a modern interface with enhanced search results, including highlighted text snippets to help you preview an abstract while scanning your results list, and easier navigation. The new Best Match sort order uses advanced machine-learning technology and a new relevance search algorithm to bring you the top-ranked results.

All of these improvements are intended to connect you with the world's leading sources of biomedical information faster and easier than ever before.


For help, visit our New PubMed guide

PubMed Introduction

PubMed is a free resource that provides access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and preclinical sciences. 

PubMed also provides access to additional relevant websites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Wait, PubMed is a free internet site?

Yes. However, to access the free full-text articles provided by the Library you must always access PubMed through our link. You can easily find links to PubMed under the Expand Your Search heading on our homepage or on the Databases page.  

How do I know if I can get the full article?

If you access PubMed through a Library link you will see our purple "STLCOP Library" button with every abstract. 

The button will direct you to either:

  • a full-text article
  • or our Interlibrary Loan request form, if full text isn’t immediately available

Why are there other links/buttons?

You may see links/buttons for publisher websites, which usually ask for payment; to get your article for FREE, we recommend relying on the purple "STLCOP Library" button.

undefined